Sprite Yard…wtf?

Mobile Insider takes a look at Sprite Yard and comes away confused.

From Mobile Insider:

“But this branded Sprite project The Yard has me pretty much befuddled. I can’t figure out what I am supposed to be doing here — let alone why I am here. One rarely sees such a terrific misfire.

The mobile site is supposed to be a kind of social network tied to the Sprite brand. Unless I am missing something, the only brand association I am getting here is GREEN. Oh, and YELLOW. There are green and yellow patches here and there, so I guess that means I am in SpriteWorld. Why Sprite would be sponsoring a social network is not at all clear. Is there a groundswell of Sprite spirit out there that I missed? Is there some special brand identification at work that I am too old to appreciate?

Even if there is some special Sprite mojo out there I am not detecting, The Yard does nothing to tell me what it is. In fact, the site designers built an inhospitable wall around the place. I had to suffer so many questions to register, bite my lip through so many error messages and poorly highlighted form boxes to fill in, that I was in a surly mood once I got into Sprite’s Yard.

I have been behaviorally modified to believe that in most instances I am the one who is clueless. But so far as I can see in Sprite’s Yard, there is no compelling branding message or affinity to social networking. There is no obvious reward for my activities. Whatever social network that is here has no real character or means of differentiating individuals from one another. There is no entertainment value to it. It isn’t clever and the social networking tools are in no way unique. And I can’t see how the site is offering me any convenience or tools I can’t get elsewhere on my phone.”

About Daniel Davenport

Daniel is a digital media executive with internet and broadcast experience. Daniel is currently the executive strategy director at THINK Interactive.

One Response to “Sprite Yard…wtf?”

  1. I think we humans have more GREEN than the Sprite Yard. I have seen a few critical reviews and in them I can vividly identify this GREEN. Of all these reviews I find yours completely of the mark and with evidently high traces of GREEN than all.

    I thought the SpriteYard idea was brilliant and when I went on The Yard I wasn’t asked to buy a sprite before registering as mentioned in another certain GREEN review. Obviously the reviewer has never been there but was somehow able to review it. On the Sprite Yard I was amazed how you can actually have a network of friends and share stuff just like on any other Social Networking Site but now and one better on a mobile phone-to me that’s unique. Give the Sprite team a chance and appreciate the extent to which they have gone in narrowing the gap between a PC and a mobile phone. I don’t care that they specialize in beverages or what. They invested in technology, brilliant technology which only leaves the question how are they going to use this technology? They must have good and brighter light bulbs than most of us to take care of that and I believe they would. The Yard – I could feel more substance in this idea than well documented ideas of Middle aged ‘Einsteins’ trying to fit in little boys’ shoes.

    To conclude I will say thumbs up to Al Gore’s GOING GREEN CAMPAIGN, the world is certainly getting GREEN. The only thing with that is we are going GREEN with envy.

Leave a Reply

